For desktop sharing, Clover offers two ways, either through Guacamole (“Read/Write” sharing privilege) or using BigBlueButton (“Read-only” privilege).
Desktop Sharing (using Guacamole menu)
You should first open a connection to your Desktop (using the Display button in your dashboard), will see a real-time view of the display using the remote desktop access tool Guacamole.
To share your desktop with the instructor, you can use the Guacamole menu, which can be opened as needed.
The Guacamole menu is a sidebar which is hidden until explicitly shown. On a desktop or other device which has a hardware keyboard, you can show this menu by pressing Ctrl+Alt+Shift
On a Mac device with an external keyboard, the guacamole menu is displayed by pressing Ctrl+Command+Shift
If you are using a mobile or touchscreen device that lacks a keyboard, you can also show the menu by swiping right from the left edge of the screen.
To Hide the guacamole menu, press Ctrl+Alt+Shift/ Ctrl+Command+Shift or swipe left across the screen again.
Sharing your desktop
By pressing the Share button in the top-center of the Guacamole menu (next to your username), a “Share” menu will appear including two sharing options: “Read-Write” and “Read-only” sharing. Clicking any of the options within the “Share” menu will generate a unique share link that can be directly accessed from via the instructor’s Clover dashboard.
PS: The sharing of the connection, lasts only until you disconnect.
Once the connection is closed, the share link ceases to be valid, and instructors sharing the connection with you will be disconnected. You need to click again on the Share button in the Guacamole menu and repeat the sharing operation.
Access to the shared instructor’s desktop
If you want to see the desktop shared by your instructor, click on the “Shared Desktops” (left-bottom icon in your dashboard).
You will get pop-up window including a list of all shared desktops. Click on the display icon to show your instructor’s connection.
Desktop Sharing (using BigBlueButton)
You can share your desktop to the instructor using the screen sharing option in BigBlueButton (if BBB enabled in Clover plugins).
How to share my desktop using BBB ?
You should use Chrome browser to share your Clover desktop:
- You should first access to your BBB room. For more information, click here.
- Your desktop should be already displayed (opened in a new tab).
- Once the BBB room is launched, click on the “share screen” at the bottom-center of the BBB dashboard. You will get pop-up window. In that you will find three options for screen sharing. Select the “Chrome Tab” option, and select the Desktop icon in the list (as shown in this figure below).